Environmental responsibility

+

The environmental footprint of the Group’s activities is measured, monitored and audited frequently in accordance with local regulations and industry practices.

Facilities located nearby or in protected natural parks require adapting the operations to the features of the natural environment. In Tanzania, the Mnazi Bay-Ruvuma estuary became a protected nature park in 2000, well after the first gas discoveries. The Maurel & Prom Group’s facilities in Tanzania, located in the Marine Park, must be careful not to cause damage by light pollution during egg-laying of turtles and birth of whales periods.

+

The Group invests in environmental protection for the sake of operational effectiveness.

In Gabon, in order to control water quality, Maurel & Prom has built a water treatment plant in 2012 to process waste water from drilling, and in 2017 the subsidiary set up a waste disposal facility at the Onal site. To improve the energy efficiency of its activities, the subsidiary uses the natural gas associated with its oil production to power its platforms.

+

The Group is a voluntary participant in national and international initiatives that help limit the direct or indirect environmental impacts of its activity.

Gabon is a wetland-rich country whose resources must be conserved and used rationally. Maurel & Prom Gabon supports the establishment of a management committee for the Ramsar site at Bas Ogooué (Ezanga and Kari permit) in order to preserve this precious ecosystem for people and nature and has been its vice-chair since 2017.

M&P Gabon contributes to the establishment of wildlife inventories in the Gamba Complex of Protected Areas, in collaboration with the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute and the WWF, as part of the Prolab anti-poaching programme and in connection with an impact study conducted by the subsidiary. This work is exceptional in both its scope and the importance of protecting the large mammals present in this area to save the species.

Responsabilité environnementale

+

L’empreinte des activités du Groupe sur l’environnement est mesurée, contrôlée et auditée fréquemment selon les réglementations locales ou les pratiques du secteur.

La situation des installations situées à proximité ou dans des parcs naturels protégés requiert d’adapter les opérations aux particularités du milieu naturel. En Tanzanie, l’estuaire de Mnazi Bay-Ruvuma est devenu un parc naturel protégé en 2000, bien après les premières découvertes de gaz. Les installations du Groupe Maurel & Prom en Tanzanie, situées dans le parc marin, doivent veiller à ne pas causer de pollution lumineuse pendant les périodes de ponte des tortues et de naissance des baleines.

+

Le Groupe investit dans le domaine de la protection de l’environnement pour l’efficacité de ses opérations.

Au Gabon, afin de contrôler la qualité de l’eau, Maurel & Prom a construit en 2012 une station de traitement des eaux de rejet de forage. En 2017, la filiale gabonaise a aménagé une déchetterie sur le site d’Onal. Afin d’améliorer l’efficacité énergétique de ses activités, la filiale électrifie ses plateformes afin d’utiliser le gaz associé à sa production d’huile.

+

Le Groupe s’inscrit volontairement dans les initiatives nationales ou internationales qui contribuent à limiter les impacts environnementaux directs ou indirects de son activité.

Le Gabon est un pays riche en zones humides dont il convient de conserver et d’utiliser rationnellement les ressources. Maurel & Prom Gabon soutient la mise en place d’un comité de gestion du site Ramsar du Bas Ogooué (permis Ezanga et Kari) afin de préserver cet écosystème précieux pour l’homme et la nature et en assure la Vice-présidence depuis 2017.

M&P Gabon contribue à la réalisation d’inventaires de la faune dans le Complexe des Aires Protégées de Gamba en collaboration avec le Smithonian Conservation Biology Institute et avec le WWF, dans le cadre du programme anti- braconnage Prolab et à l’occasion d’une étude d’impact diligentée par la filiale. Ces travaux sont exceptionnels par leur ampleur et par l’importance que revêt la protection des grands mammifères présents dans cette zone pour la sauvegarde des espèces.